Kakori House, CCI – Mumbai

When I Googled ‘best biryani in Mumbai’ Kakori House came out on top. As much as we would have loved to go, it was a little to far and the Kakori House outlet at the CCI was closed that day. We ended up going to another place for Biryani but at the back of my mind I knew it had to try the biryani at Kakori House.

I had my chance when we wanted to grab a quick bite after seeing a play at the NCPA. CCI was walking distance and it sounded perfect! We reached Kakori House at about 9:30pm. We knew we were pushing it because closing time was 10 pm. Or rather, the time for the last order was 10 pm. S and I were probably 2 of the 8 people there that late. We were hungry and were praying that we would have hot food at our table in as little time as possible. Fortunately our server was quick on his feet and got us the menu quickly.  We already knew we wanted the Vegetable Dum Biryani but needed to order something else too. A quick look told us something not too heavy but just enough to satisfy that little bit of hunger that would remain after the biryani would be a wrap.  We settled on an Adraki Paneer Tikka wrap.

What impressed me was that the roomali roti was whole wheat. It is the first time I have heard of a roomali roti being whole wheat! Anything whole wheat always makes me happy. We did tell the server we were super hungry and he said he would get the food as soon as possible. True to his word, we had the wrap on our table in about  10 minutes.  I normally enjoy eating paneer at a place where they have meat specialities because they marinate the paneer and potatoes very well just as they would do for meat. So I was quite excited to eat the paneer wrap. The wrap was quite filled up and the Adraki flavour was mild. The whole wheat roomali roti was very chewy and I did not quite enjoy  it. I would have liked the paneer to have more flavour and for the roti to have been slightly less chewy.  Maybe with fewer layers to the wrap.

With a disappointing start to our meal, I was hoping that thebiryani lived up to the hype. The veggies in the biryani were cooked just right where they had a slight bite and the biryani was lightly flavoured. It tasted of delicate spices like Saffron and nutmeg. All in all it was cooked very well and had very Mughlai flavors.

The experience at Kakori House wasn’t mind blowing and I have a feeling that their vegetable curries and rotis would have been a better bet.  I guess I will have to try it again and write another review for it!

I would give Kakori House a 3 out of 5 for their well cooked food yet it had a bit of a missing element. To next time there for a better rating, hopefully!

Leave a Reply

