Leopold Cafe – Colaba, Mumbai

The first time I went to Leopold’s was when I was 19 years old. It was our first trip as a group of friends to Mumbai. We hadn’t heard much about the place but a friend had moved the previous year to Mumbai and was raving about the energy of the place. We felt like adults there. People relaxing and enjoying the loud music. It had this adult, hippie energy to it. As youngsters from a smaller town, we were so excited by the restaurant. We had an absolutely wonderful night and thoroughly enjoyed the vibe.

 

I must’ve revisited the restaurant after years. We reached at about 10:15pm and it was still bustling with energy and noise. It was the 14th of August and I’m sure people were around later than usual because the next day was a holiday. There is such a difference between the seating upstairs and downstairs. Downstairs is filled with tourists who want to grab a quick beer and understand the city’s culture or a group of creative people debating about some topic. There are also those couples who want to spend a few more minutes with each other before going to their own homes, grabbing a dessert or a drink. And of course, the group of young college students who just want to have a good time. Since the upstairs is more private, you find a few more couples, groups that want to enjoy their drink and the larger groups that want to enjoy shots!

 

We decided to sit upstairs because it was air-conditioned. It is loud, dimly lit and has a different, club-like energy. We found a nice table for 2 and realized why couples would enjoy being here! We ordered a pitcher of beer and were so hungry, dived straight into ordering mains. I ordered pasta with mushrooms in a paprika cream sauce, S ordered Malaysian noodles, extra spicy!! The beer was great! Cold and refreshing and I was happy to enjoy the music sipping on my beer! My pasta came first, though that took 30 minutes or so. I don’t know if that’s understandable enough considering the restaurant was totally packed! S’s noodles came in 15 minutes after my pasta. When he said extra spicy they took him literally! The noodles were like fire! I couldn’t eat them at all and S pretended like he loved them and could totally handle them but his lips were burning and he was sweating and tearing up. I’ve learned one thing; men can be the most stubborn creatures on this planet especially when you tell them not to do something! So S faked loving his noodles and his tearing eyes and sweaty forehead humored me.

 

All in all, except for the crazy noodles and a completely non-functioning toilet, it was a great evening. A non-functioning single loo in a pub is just non-acceptable!

It had been a while since I went to a loud pub and I enjoyed my time there. I do think Leopold’s was a little bit pricey considering the ambience and the less than attentive waiters, but it seems to have a name and enjoys a different clientele. Would I go there again? Maybe after a few years… My verdict: 3 out of 5. 

Restaurant Hours – 8:00 AM to 12:00 AM

Telephone Numbers – 02222828185 OR 02222020131

Leave a Reply

